Player Piano (1952); pub. as Utopia 14 (1954); repub. as Player Piano (1966)
The Sirens of Titan (1959)
Mother Night (1961)
Cat’s Cradle (1963)
God Bless You, Mr. Rosewater, or Pearls Before Swine (1965)
Slaughterhouse-Five, or The Children’s Crusade: A Duty-Dance with Death (1969)
Breakfast of Champions, or Goodbye Blue Monday (1973)
Slapstick, or Lonesome No More (1976)
Jailbird (1979)
Deadeye Dick (1982)
Galápagos: A Novel (1985)
Bluebeard (1987)
Hocus Pocus (1990)
Timequake (1997)


(Short fiction, essays, etc.)

Canary in a Cathouse
Welcome to the Monkey House: A Collection of Short Works (1968)
Wampeters, Foma, and Granfalloons (1974)
Palm Sunday: An Autobiographical Collage (1981)
Nothing Is Lost Save Honor: Two Essays (1984)
Fates Worse than Death : an Autobiographical Collage of the 1980s (1991)
Bagombo Snuff Box: Uncollected Short Fiction (1999)
God Bless You, Dr. Kevorkian (1999)
A Man Without a Country: A Memoir Of Life In George W. Bush’s America (2005)
Armageddon in Retrospect (2008)
Look at the Birdie: Unpublished Short Fiction (2009)
While Mortals Sleep: Unpublished Short Fiction (2011)
Kurt Vonnegut: The Cornell Sun Years 1941-1943 (2012)*
We Are What We Pretend to Be: The First and Last Works (2012)*
Kurt Vonnegut: Letters (2012)*
Sucker’s Portfolio: A Collection of Previously Unpublished Writing (2013)*
If This Isn’t Nice, What Is? Advice for the Young (2013)*


Penelope (1960), revised as Happy Birthday, Wanda June (1970)
Fortitude (1968)
Between Time and Timbuktu, or Prometheus-5: A Space Fantasy (1972)
Make Up Your Mind (1993)
Miss Temptation (1993)
L’Histoire du Soldat, adaptation (1993)


Like Shaking Hands with God (1999), a conversation between Kurt Vonnegut and Lee Stringer
Sun Moon Star
(1980), Kurt Vonnegut and Ivan Chermayeff

*published after Kurt Vonnegut’s death